| March 07, 2017

$1.7 million for improvements to two Murray schools

Federal Member for Murray, Damian Drum MP, has today announced two schools in the Murray electorate will receive $1.7 million in funding from the Coalition Government for the construction of specialised learning areas.

The grants are part of the Government’s Capital Grants Program which provides funding to help improve the infrastructure of non-government primary and secondary schools, which may not have access to sufficient capital of their own.

Mr Drum will announce the funding at Sacred Heart Primary School in Yarrawonga today alongside Principal Arn Gorman and architect John Guthrie.

‘The Coalition Government has secured $1 million for upgrades to Sacred Heart,’ Mr Drum said. ‘This vital funding will support the construction of a Year 5 and 6 Leadership Centre. For the first time the Year 5 and 6 students will have their own dedicated building consisting of six new learning spaces.’

‘The funding will also go towards the demolition of relocatable building, where the Year 5s and 6s are currently receiving lessons,’ he said. ‘Construction on the new Leadership Centre will start in July 2017 and we hope it will be completed in time for Term One next year.’

Another $700,000 has been secured for St Mary of the Angels Secondary College in Nathalia.

‘This funding will go towards the construction of a year 7 learning centre at St Mary of the Angels, as well as demolition of relocatable buildings and associated works,’ he said. ‘This work is expected to be completed later next year’.

Fast Facts

  • $1 million for Sacred Heart Primary School in Yarrawonga
  • $700,000 for St Mary of the Angels Secondary College Nathalia
  • Funding awarded under the Coalition Government’s Capital Grants Program

Together we can make a difference

View our 'Sharable' facts and infographics

Created with NationBuilder