Undergraduate students from regional and remote areas who are keen to take advantage of this year’s Inland Rail Scholarships Program have just one week left to apply for one of nine remaining positions.

Federal Member for Nicholls, Damian Drum, said scholarships of up to $20,000 would be awarded to successful applicants who are studying an undergraduate degree at La Trobe University, including its Shepparton and Albury-Wodonga campuses.

Scholarships are also available at the University of Southern Queensland and Charles Sturt University.

Mr Drum said a total of nine scholarships remain, after 11 were awarded last year (list below).

The scholarships are valued at up to $20,000; $5000 for every year of study throughout an undergraduate degree. There is also a one-off bursary payment of $1000 in the first year.

Mr Drum said, for successful applicants, the scholarships – awarded by the Australian Rail Track Corporation – were a way to give back to their communities by studying and pursuing careers that fill local skills gaps, while also contributing to the prosperity and growth of their region.

“These scholarships will help students in regional communities, including those within Nicholls, to be able to engage in education opportunities in regional areas, developing skills and qualifications that will help them secure jobs in local industries,” Mr Drum said.

“Education, career opportunities and jobs are crucial to Australia’s recovery from the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic and Inland Rail’s construction is providing the needed stimulus throughout our community.”

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development, Michael McCormack, said regional Australians were benefiting from the investment Inland Rail was bringing to communities along its route, not only in the construction phase, but long-term.

“Through these scholarships, we are supporting the next generation of skilled workers who will manage and lead these growth sectors from the heart of regional Australia,” Mr McCormack said.

“The investment we are making in Inland Rail is an investment in regional Australia, an investment in the Australian economy, and an investment in the future workforce of Australia.

“A range of industries and businesses that rely on freight, complementary industries in manufacturing, supplies and value adding will benefit from Inland Rail.”

Minister for Decentralisation and Regional Education, Andrew Gee, said the Inland Rail Scholarships were helping regional Australians build a career in their hometowns.

“Historically, many country students have had to relocate to the city to undertake tertiary education studies. This comes at a cost to not only the student, but also the local community and economy,” Mr Gee said.

“We want to give young people more reasons to live and work in regional Australia – that’s exactly what the Inland Rail scholarships are about. They are an opportunity for regional communities to build their own legacies.”

Applications for the 2021 Inland Rail Scholarship Program close on January 14 for La Trobe University and February 8 for Charles Sturt University and University of Southern Queensland.

To find out more go to: Inlandrail.artc.com.au/scholarships

2020 scholarship recipients

Student Hometown Degree University Campus
Joshua Irvine Narromine Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Diagnostic Photography) CSU Port Macquarie
Jessie Rix Bogan Gate Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood and Primary) CSU Wagga Wagga
Megan Seis Dunedoo Bachelor of Veterinary Biology/Bachelor of Veterinary Science CSU Wagga Wagga
Hannah Davies Temora Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Diagnostic Photography) CSU Wagga Wagga
Rebecca Hallahan Lockyer Valley Bachelor of Aviation USQ Toowoomba
Sophie Boon Lockyer Valley Bachelor of Agricultural Engineering and Science USQ Toowoomba
Samuel Butler Goondiwindi Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering USQ Toowoomba
Braidyn Newitt Logan Bachelor of Paramedicine USQ Springfield
Madeline Tomkins Wodonga Bachelor Biomedical Science La Trobe Albury-Wodonga
Dellareece Matson Kilmore Bachelor Nursing La Trobe Shepparton
Carris Leslie Peechelba (Wangaratta) Bachelor of Arts La Trobe Bundoora



Leave a Reply