Damian Drum MP is the Federal Member for the northern Victorian rural seat of Nicholls. Damian is a member of the National Party, and has represented the Goulburn Valley region since 2016.

More about Damian

I was born in Shepparton, grew up on a dairy farm in Congupna and am the youngest of seven children. Originally I went to school in Shepparton and spent a couple of years at boarding school before returning to finish my schooling at St Colmans. After finishing school I went on to complete a building apprenticeship.

In 1981, I was drafted by Geelong Football Club. Over the next ten years, I played 63 games, eventually retiring from the AFL at the end of 1990 and joining Victorian Football Association club Werribee. I also operated my own steel fabrication and construction business in Werribee from 1987 to 1993. In 1993 I took up a coaching position with Port Melbourne in the VFA. Later that year I moved to Sydney, taking up the assistant coach position at the Sydney Swans, under coach Ron Barassi.

In September of 1998 I was appointed Senior Coach of Fremantle for three seasons. In 2002 I moved back to Victoria and took up a position as coach of the Bendigo Diggers VFL team.

In the November 2002 election I ran for The Nationals and won the Victorian Legislative Council seat of North Western Province. This later became the Northern Victoria Region where I served until April 2016.

I was Minister for Sport and Recreation and Minister for Veterans’ Affairs in the Napthine Ministry from March to November 2014. From 2014 to 2016 I was the Shadow Minister for Regional Development, Shadow Minister for Sport and Recreation and Shadow Minister for Veterans’ Affairs.

In April 2016 I relinquished one of the safest seats in the Victorian Parliament to contest and ultimately win the federal seat of Murray. At the 2019 election, the seat of Murray was renamed as Nicholls, and again I won the seat again to become the first Federal Member for Nicholls.

Read my
first speech

The Nationals

My deliveries
for Nicholls

More about Nicholls

Nicholls electorate
AEC profile

Electorate map

The Nicholls electorate was renamed Nicholls at the 2019 election, having previously been known as Murray.



The Nicholls electorate is 14,768 sq km.

The Nicholls electorate sits between the federal electorates of Mallee and Bendigo (to the west), McEwen (to the south), Indi (to the east), and Farrer (to the north, on the other side of the northern NSW border edging Nicholls).

To see which State and Local Government areas fall within Nicholls visit my page: Which government does what?


Population Centres

Key population centres in Nicholls (by population size) are Shepparton, Mooroopna and Kialla, Echuca, Yarrawonga, Kyabram, Seymour, Cobram, Numurkah, Tatura, Broadford, Rochester, Nagambie, Nathalia, Tongala, Rushworth, Gunbower, Lockington, Tungahmah, Dookie, Tallarook, Avenel, Katematite, Strathmerton, Merrigum, Girgarre, and Stanhope.



Farming (including dairy and sheep) and agriculture (including wheat, wineries and orchards), and processing (including fruit, and both wholesale and consumer goods).



The Nicholls electorate is named after Sir Douglas Ralph Nicholls and his wife Lady Gladys Nicholls, in recognition of their significant contribution in advocating for Aboriginal rights and welfare. Like Damian, Sir Nicholls had a career in sport before his career in politics.