The Nicholls electorate is based in rural northern Victoria, stretching along the NSW border from Echuca to Yarrawonga, and down to Seymour and Broadford in the south. Shepparton is the largest locality, located approximately in the centre of the electorate.

More about Nicholls

The Nicholls electorate was renamed Nicholls at the 2019 election, having previously been known as Murray.



The Nicholls electorate is 14,768 sq km.

The Nicholls electorate sits between the federal electorates of Mallee and Bendigo (to the west), McEwen (to the south), Indi (to the east), and Farrer (to the north, on the other side of the northern NSW border edging Nicholls).

To see which State and Local Government areas fall within Nicholls visit my page: Which government does what?


Population Centres

Key population centres in Nicholls (by population size) are Shepparton, Mooroopna and Kialla, Echuca, Yarrawonga, Kyabram, Seymour, Cobram, Numurkah, Tatura, Broadford, Rochester, Nagambie, Nathalia, Tongala, Rushworth, Gunbower, Lockington, Tungahmah, Dookie, Tallarook, Avenel, Katematite, Strathmerton, Merrigum, Girgarre, and Stanhope.



Farming (including dairy and sheep) and agriculture (including wheat, wineries and orchards), and processing (including fruit, and both wholesale and consumer goods).



The Nicholls electorate is named after Sir Douglas Ralph Nicholls and his wife Lady Gladys Nicholls, in recognition of their significant contribution in advocating for Aboriginal rights and welfare. Like Damian, Sir Nicholls had a career in sport before his career in politics.

Nicholls electorate
AEC profile

Electorate map